Deactivate WhatsApp Account Permanently on Android
This guide will show you how to deactivate/delete WhatsApp account permanently on Android. Deleting your WhatsApp account is a simple task. All you have to do, just navigate to Settings within the app and find an option that allows you to perform that task. However, it’s important to know, once you delete your WhatsApp account, you’ll lose all your messages. Unlike other social sites, WhatsApp doesn’t allow you to reactivate your account within a time period.
Deactivate a WhatsApp account permanently
So if you’ve made up your mind and want to proceed, follow the below steps:
Step 1: Open WhatsApp application on your Android phone, and tap the three-dot menu icon on the top right.
Step 2: Navigate to Settings > Account > Delete my account.
Step 3: Enter your phone number with country code. Then tap DELETE MY ACCOUNT.
Done! You’ve successfully deleted your WhatsApp account. You can no longer access the contacts, groups, and messages you had in your WhatsApp account.
Note: WhatsApp doesn’t verify your identity. So, be careful, as anyone who has access to the app can delete your WhatsApp account.
Deactivate WhatsApp account in a lost/stolen phone
Since you’ve no access to your phone, you can’t deactivate your WhatsApp account directly using the app.
In this case, the fastest way to deactivate the account is to block the SIM and get a new one with the same mobile number. Then install WhatsApp on another phone and verify the mobile number. Doing this will automatically deactivate your WhatsApp account in the lost/stolen phone.
Another way is to send an email to WhatsApp support team. In the email body, include the phrase “Lost/Stolen: Please deactivate my account” and the phone number in international format.
Once your account is deactivated, if you don’t activate it within 30 days, it’ll be deleted permanently.
What happens if you delete your WhatsApp account?
When you delete your account a few things happen that wipe your existence from WhatsApp entirely.
- Delete your data from WhatsApp’s server and backup systems within 90 days.
- Erase your message history from your phone.
- Remove your account from WhatsApp groups and your friends’ WhatsApp contacts list. But, your contacts will still be able to see the messages you’ve exchanged earlier.
- Delete your message and media backup from Google Drive.
- Your phone number is no longer associated with WhatsApp.
However, WhatsApp keeps a record of some material for legal purposes. This data is useful in case of a fraud account or illegal activity.
Note: In the future, you can sign up to use WhatsApp again using the same phone number, but you won’t be able to restore your previous data.
Also Read: How to mute someone on WhatsApp