How to Know If Someone Blocked You from Their Story on Instagram

Ever wonder what happens if social media platforms send you a notification that someone has blocked you? It will hurt if it comes from someone close to you. However, social platforms including Instagram and others do not notify you when someone blocks you. Also, sometimes people who use to share stories and posts on Instagram gets stop appearing on your timeline. It feels like they have blocked you that is why their stories or posts are not visible to you. So, is this really mean that they have blocked you from their Instagram stories?

how to know if someone blocked you from seeing their story on instagram

If you are thinking that they really blocked you, then you might be wrong. There can be multiple reasons for which their posts or stories are not appearing on your news feed. Maybe they are not currently posting new posts or stories. Also, there are chances that they have deactivated their account.

Then how do you know if someone blocked you from seeing their stories on Instagram?

In this article, we have the solution to your problem. You will find out whether they really blocked you or not on Instagram. All the steps present in this article are manually conducted. You need to follow these steps to find out the real reason.

1. Search for the Profile on Instagram

The first thing you can do is that you can search for the specific profile of the person that you might think has blocked you. You can search that profile on Instagram by entering their name on the Search option.

Now let us see what different possibilities will occur after searching the profile on Instagram.

 If you search the profile and it appears, then you must also see the posts if it is a public profile. However, if the profile has privacy turned on, then you will see the message saying ‘This Account is Private’. If the above-mentioned things happen then you can chill because you are not blocked.

How to tell if someone blocked you from their story on Instagram

 What if the profile appears with the message ‘No Posts Yet’, however, the posts section shows the numbers? Then it is sad news for you because you have been blocked by that person.

 Now, let say the profile you have searched doesn’t appear. Then maybe the person has deactivated their account. The other reason can be that they have blocked you.

2. Manually Visit the Profile

If the profile does not appear through searching on Instagram, then you can visit that profile manually. On Instagram, when people block you it does not delete the past activity of that person from your profile. For example, if that person has commented on your profile then it remains even you are blocked. So, you can visit that profile through that comment. After visiting the profile, if it is showing posts numbers, but not showing posts, then you are blocked by that person.

3. Search Profile by Instagram Username

If you still are not able to find the profile, then you can search profile by using their Instagram username. You just need to open your browser and type Instagram.com/abc on it. However, you need to remember the correct username to search for the right profile. Just type the username in the place of ‘abc’.

how to know if someone hides their story from you on instagram

If the person blocks you, then it will display an error message saying ‘Sorry, this page isn’t available,’ when you are logged in with your profile.

To find out whether the person really blocked you or deactivated their account, simply log out from your profile on the browser. After that search with the same link. In this case, if the profile appears then you are blocked. If it does not appear then they have deactivated their profile.

4. Check for Direct Messages (DM)

If someone blocks you on Instagram, then your chat with that person disappears. Through this, you can also find out whether that person has blocked you or not. Open your direct messages (DM) and find your chat with that person. If the chat is available, then you are not blocked by that person. However, if you do not see the chat then you may be blocked. Similarly, the second reason can be they have deactivated the account.

If you both were in the same Instagram group, then you can verify from it. Find the profile of that person in the group chat, and if the profile is there then you are blocked by that person.

5. Check from Another Instagram Profile

If you are running two Instagram accounts, then you are in luck. You can easily check whether the person has blocked you or not by switching to a different account. You need to search their profile from the second account and if it appears then the person has blocked you from your previous account.

However, if you do not have a second account, you can ask your friend, cousin, or family member to search the profile. If the profile appears on their account then you must accept that that person blocked you.

6. Follow on Instagram Again

If somehow their profile is appearing on Instagram then follow them again. If they have blocked you then the follow button will remain the same, nothing will happen. However, if you are worried that they will be notified, then do not worry about that. Because Instagram will not notify them.

When someone blocks you on Instagram

However, there are chances that the person didn’t block you. In that case, tapping on follow button will allow you to follow that person. As result, they will be notified that you are following them or requested to follow them.